AAC (Hi-Quality) (44k)
MP3 (56k | 128k)
New in the KUCI Music Library
August 6, 2013
by: Martim Galvão

Medicine - To The Happy Few - (Captured Tracks)
To The Happy Few marks the return of LA-based band Medicine. It's been 18 years the release of Her Highness but it's obvious on track one that time has not dulled the edge on these progenitors of shoegaze. Listen and you will not be disappointed.

Eros and the Eschaton - Home Address For Civil War - (Bar None)
RIYL: My Bloody Valentine, Slowdive, Yo La Tengo
Duo Adam Hawkins and Kate Perdoni's brand of shoe gazer dreampop combines distorted guitar with disembodied vocals and a hazy aesthetic to create 10 tracks of bright-eyed fog.

R. Stevie Moore - Personal Appeal - (Care in the Community)
Almost impossible to categorize, R. Stevie Moore has managed to completely circumvent the traditional recording industry and release thousands of songs through the R. Stevie Moore Cassette Club. Personal Appeal goes from Beatles-esque to classical strings with pop vocals to pure fuzz with mind-baffling continuity.

Kyle Andrews - Brighter Than The Sun - (Elephant Lady)
Chicago native and current Nashville resident Kyle Andrews is back with his 4th LP. Using everything from built-in laptop mics to top-of-the-line studio set-ups, the album does not fail to deliver some extremely palpable indie electro-pop.

Pond - Hobo Rocket - (Modular)
The fifth LP from Perth, Australia based five-piece Pond, Hobo Rocket is a equal parts shadowy and psychedelic - with a great big dollop of fun plopped on top. Loopy and distorted sounds pay tribute to their influences without attempting to sound retro.

Pure Bathing Culture - Moon Tides - (Partisan)
The Portland dream-pop duo, comprised of guitarist Daniel Hindman and keyboardist Sarah Versprille, release their debut LP on Partisan Records. Inspired by the relationship between the moon, tides, water, and human emotion, the duo deliver a digestible take on these heady themes.

Cloud Control - Dream Cave (Sampler from Votiv)
Bringing in overtones of hip hop and electronic music, the Australian quartet broadens their sonic landscape considerably as compared to 2010's Bliss Release. Washy synths and razored studio edits combine with a cornucopia of influences for the group's most experimental album to date.

Mean Lady - Love Now - (Fat Possum)
The debut album from Delaware's Mean Lady. Featuring smoky vocals, an array of odd instruments, and tons of interesting samples, the sheer range of this album guarantees an entertaining listening experience.

Yes Nice - Warm Gun - (Negative Dialects)
Joined by Jillian McKellar, Darren Frank, and Peter Hendrickson, the former duo of Scott McKellar and Nathaniel Wong release their sophomore LP Warm Gun. The album aims to take their signature upbeat harmonies straight to your hips - not in weight but in shaking.

Jagwar Ma - Howlin - (Mom + Pop)
Australian duo Jagwar Ma's debut album is a psychedelic journey combining electronic sounds with just the right amount of hazy vintage vibes. A retro experience through the eyes of the present if you will. "Come Save Me" radio edit also available in library.

Summer Cannibals - No Makeup – (New Moss)
The Portland-based group somehow manage to dish out 10 guitar-ragging, drum pounding tracks under 30 minutes for their debut LP No Makeup. Completely self-produced and self-released - even down to the album art.


[ Home | About KUCI | Contact | Alumni Pages | Photo Gallery | Schedule | CD Reviews | Listening Help | Articles | Hosts | Links ]

KUCI is brought to you by the University of California, Irvine