AAC (Hi-Quality) (44k)
MP3 (56k | 128k)
New in the KUCI Music Library
April 5, 2011
by: lily C

The Death Set - Michel Poiccard (Counter)
This album mixes many genres including punk, rock, and electronic. Beginning with the album with the line "I wanna take this tape and blow up ya fuckin' stereo!" that is exactly what they do. Most songs are loud with abrasive vocals but are accompanied by punk rock melodies and electronic overtones. This album is in celebration of founding member Beau Velasco's death, who abruptly passed on due to an overdose before beginning the album. Artist and remixer XXXchange takes charge on this album with members Johnny Siera, Daniel Walker and Jahphet Landis including guests Diplo and Spank Rock.

Younger Brother - Vaccine (Sci Fidelity)
The trio of Simon Posford, Benji Vaughan, and Ruu Campbell originate from international trance royalty and this is very evident when listening to their new record. The sound is electronic fast paced tech rock, using synth like trance melodies but remaining very rock in essence accompanied by guitars, bass, pianos, drums and drum machines. The techy sound comes from robot voices and spacey samples, while the lead singers voice is melodic in accordance with each tracks trance-rock anthem qualities.
RIYL: UNKLE, Sun Airway, Massive Attack

Sarah Jaffe - Even Born Again (Kirtland Records)
Sarah Jaffe is a 24-year-old Texas based singer-songwriter with a deeply strong willed voice. The tracks are folk rock including stand up bass, acoustic guitars, both loud & leisurely percussion and beautifully symbolic heartfelt lyrics.

Crystal Stilts - In Love with Oblivion (Slumberland)
This album has a droning twangy reverb/ echoing feeling to it, full of lagging-organs, "druggy-basslines, and far-out badassery", reminiscent of English 70s post-punk rock. Instruments include organs, a clarinet, "slack-strung" guitars and mostly upbeat percussion.
RIYL: Joy Division

The Goldberg Sisters - The Goldberg Sisters (Play It Again Sam)
This album bounces between cozy acoustic moments and its rolling psychedelic ones. Golberg alternates between "verses of striped down bass, piano drums, and choruses layered with strings, synths, guitars and vocal harmonies". Most voices on the album are either bright, longing, psychedelic in nature, whiny or a combination. Players who join Adam Goldberg (vocals/ guitar/ keys) on the album include Roxanne Daner (violin/ vocals), Andrew Lynch (keys/ trumpet), Merritt Lear (violin, vocals), Eric Seigel (bass/ guitar), and Derek Brown (drums) while Aaron Espinoza joins as co-producer.

Cold Cave - Cherish the Light Years (Matador)
This album has apparent roots in new wave, post-punk, alternative rock taking influence from both The Cure and New Order. Most songs are synth based electronic pop anthems which have some industrial qualities. While melodically and lyrically the tracks have contrastingly romantic and dark over and undertones.

Wolf Ram Heart - Betrayal of Hearts (Sovereign States)
The album includes moments of seeming sadness but the percussion remains upbeat possibly leading the listener to the light at the end of the tunnel but not forcing them there. Most of the slowly gliding melodies on the album are partnered with harmonizing vocals.

Maritime - Human Hearts (Dangerbird)
Maritime is composed of previous members of The Promise Ring, The Benjamins, and Decibully. This is their fourth full length album. The rhythms and vocals alike are catchy, poppy & warm creating lovingly calm indie rock songs.



[ Home | About KUCI | Contact | Alumni Pages | Photo Gallery | Schedule | CD Reviews | Listening Help | Articles | Hosts | Links ]

KUCI is brought to you by the University of California, Irvine