AAC (Hi-Quality) (44k)
MP3 (56k | 128k)
New in the KUCI Punk Library
November 14, 2014
by: Tommy DeSilva

Lagwagon - Hang - [Fat Wreck Chords]
Lagwagon is a 5 piece Punk Rock band from Santa Barbara ,CA. After taking a very long break from the studio, Lagwagon has returned this year stronger than ever with a brand new album entitled Hang. Characterized by fast paced drumming, distorted guitars, and melodic vocal lines, Hang is a very solid record that all Lagwagon fans can surely appreciate. After listening to this record, it is hard to believe that Lagwagon hasn’t released a full length album in over 9 years, as the songs on this record pick up right where their last album Resolve left off. With that being said, the lyrical content of most of the songs on Hang showcase singer/songwriter Joey Cape’s darker side, as opposed to some of Lagwagon’s earlier releases. Nevertheless, the songs on this record are still great and they all can be added to the list of songs that Lagwagon fans will know and love for many years to come. Tracks to definitely check out on this album include; “Reign,” “The Cog In The Machine,” “Obsolete Absolute,” and “One More Song.”

Trophy Eyes – Mend, Move On – [Hopeless Records]
Trophy Eyes are a 5 piece Melodic Hardcore band from Newcastle, Australia. Their debut album Mend, Move On is a truly awesome record that really hits the listener hard with its loud and distorted guitars, screaming vocals, and emotionally compelling lyrics. Discussing emotional topics such as growing up, heartbreak, and financial hardship, Trophy Eyes’ singer/songwriter does a great job of being able to connect with listeners while still being able to maintain a hard edged sound through his vocal style. If you are a fan bands such as Touché Amoré, Title Fight, and Basement, I guarantee that you will like this band. Tracks to definitely check out on this album include; “My Name On Paper,” “Family Name,” “In Return,” and “White Curtains.”

Major League – There’s Nothing Wrong With Me – [No Sleep Records]
Major League is a 4 piece Alternative/Pop Punk band from Mantua, NJ. Their new album There’s Nothing Wrong With Me marks the band’s second release on No Sleep Records as well as their first release without their original vocalist Nick Trask. After Nick’s departure from Major League, the band saw their rhythm guitarist Brian Joyce take over lead vocal duties, which subsequently led to a change in the band’s sound. On this newest release, Major League moves away from their original Pop Punk sound to more of an Alternative/Emo sound that is very reminiscent to that of bands such as; Title Fight, Balance and Composure, and Turnover. While this change in the band’s sound wasn’t exactly expected, it is safe to say that it was a very good change. The songs on this record really showcase each member’s abilities on each of their respected instruments, as well as new vocalist Bryan Joyce’s song writing prowess. Tracks to definitely check out on this record include, “Wallflower,” “Pillow Talk,” “Kaleidoscopes,” and “Just As I Am.”

Seaway – All In My Head – EP – [Pure Noise Records]
Seaway is a 5 piece Pop Punk band from Ontario, Canada. Their new EP All In My Head marks the band’s first new release since signing to Pure Noise Records earlier this year. All In My Head is a very upbeat and catchy EP whose sound is very reminiscent to that of other well-known Pop Punk bands such as; The Wonder Years, Man Overboard, Fireworks, and Real Friends. While there is only 4 songs on this EP, each one has its own uniqueness to it that showcases Seaway’s talents and that also shows the listener how much potential this band has to become one of the bigger names within the Pop Punk scene. Each track is definitely worth checking out, but my personal favorites are “Your Best Friend,” and “Alberta.”

Knuckle Puck - While I Stay Secluded – EP – [Bad Timing Records]
Knuckle Puck is a 5 piece Pop Punk band from Chicago, IL. Their new EP While I Stay Secluded is a hard hitting record whose sound can be characterized by catchy guitar riffs, angsty vocals, and emotional lyrics. While many of the songs on this record discuss emotional topics such as growing up, heartbreak, and loneliness, the band still is able to deliver a hard edged sound, mostly through singer/songwriter Joe Taylor’s screaming voice. Some of the bands who Knuckle Puck’s sound can be compared to include; Real Friends, The Wonder Years, and You Blew It. Tracks to definitely check out on this EP include; “Transparency,” “Oak Street,” and “Bedford Falls.”

Forever Came Calling – What Matters Most – [Pure Noise Records]
Forever Came Calling is a 4 piece Pop Punk band from Twentynine Palms, CA. Their new album What Matters Most marks the band’s first new full length release in over 2 years as well as their second full length release on Pure Noise Records. Characterized by catchy guitar riffs, powerful vocals, and emotionally compelling lyrics, What Matters Most picks up right where the Forever Came Calling’s first album Contender left off. While listening to this record, listeners can pick up a new sense of maturity in the band’s sound, not only lyrically, but musically as well, which showcases how great this band really is. If you are a fan of Pop Punk, this is a record that you do not want to sleep on! Tracks to definitely check out on this album include; “August Is Home,” “Mapping With a Sense of Direction,” “Transient (I Don't Miss),” and “Indebted.”



[ Home | About KUCI | Contact | Alumni Pages | Photo Gallery | Schedule | CD Reviews | Listening Help | Articles | Hosts | Links ]

KUCI is brought to you by the University of California, Irvine